Skip to content ↓

Allenbourn Middle School

School Council

Our School Council at AMS is democracy in action!  The Council is comprised of two representatives from each tutor group from Year 5 to Year 8 – all elected by their peers. The senior positions are elected at the beginning of each year with opportunities for pupils to run as Chair, Secretary and Treasurer (and Vices).

We meet once a week to express views that the representatives have gathered from their classes. These can range from requests for equipment to ideas for new school trips. The Council debates the issues and agrees on actions to be taken ready for the next meeting. In the past, a suggestion was made for a Stationery shop in school and School Council responded by setting up their very own! Pencil case essentials can be bought from our reps in the Library.

Staff are keen to hear the views of pupils and support the Council in implementing new ideas such as running sessions for pupil input in the new Anti-Bullying Policy and taking on suggestions for the House Reward Days. 

Here is a video of the Anti-Bullying assembly that the school council presented to the pupils ...

You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please

Anti-bullying assembly from Allenbourn Middle School on Vimeo.